Best lawyer in Jonesboro!!!
Types of Arkansas Misdemeanors
When clients contact us about misdemeanor charges, they could be facing a number of different types of criminal accusations. We have extensive experience defending people in a wide range of misdemeanor charges. The most common types of misdemeanors we defend against include:
- Public intoxication
- Drug possession
- Disorderly conduct
- Domestic violence
Most of these offenses have both misdemeanor and felony levels of prosecution, depending on the nature of the offense, the circumstances involved, and your prior criminal history. For instance, drug possession can switch from a misdemeanor to a felony in Arkansas, based on the drug involved and the amount of the drug discovered. Likewise, DWI charges can escalate to a felony in Arkansas if you have numerous prior DWIs in the previous five years.
A skilled Arkansas criminal defense attorney can explain the potential consequences of your charges and negotiate the best outcome for you.
Misdemeanor Penalties in Arkansas
If you accept a plea agreement or are convicted in trial, your case will proceed to sentencing. Sentencing for misdemeanors in Arkansas depends on the “Class” assigned to the crime. There are three classes of misdemeanors in the state — A, B, and C — and each carries different penalties.
- Class C Misdemeanor –The least serious type of misdemeanor, a Class C misdemeanor carries a potential penalty of:
i. Jail time of up to 30 days
ii. Fine of up to $500
- Class B Misdemeanor – An intermediate-level misdemeanor, a Class B misdemeanor carries a potential penalty of:
i. Jail time of up to 90 days
ii. Fine of up to $1,000
- Class A Misdemeanor – The most serious type of misdemeanor, a Class A misdemeanor carries a potential penalty of:
i. Jail time of up to 1 year
ii. Fine of up to $2,500
Your lawyer will gather evidence in your case and analyze all of the factors that could influence your likelihood of acquittal (a defense verdict at trial). In addition, your attorney will work with the prosecutor on your case to try to achieve a full dismissal of the charges or to understand any potential plea offers. Together with your skilled Arkansas lawyer, you will decide the best options for you.
Arkansas Misdemeanor Statute of Limitations
A statute of limitations is a deadline by which a case must be filed in court. Statutes of limitations are imposed by way of state laws, and they vary based on the type of case and the nature of the case. The party who must pay attention to the statute of limitations also varies depending on the type of case.
In criminal misdemeanor cases, the state (prosecution) has to file the charges and has to abide by the statute of limitations set by Arkansas law. Arkansas generally has a one-year statute of limitations on misdemeanor offenses, meaning the state has one year from the date of the alleged offense to file charges against a person or persons.
When you hire an attorney, that attorney will be sure to check the dates provided by you and depicted in the reports to make sure the statute of limitations did not pass prior to the state’s filing. If it did expire before the state filed charges, you can use this as a powerful defense to your case.
Importance of Hiring the Right Arkansas Misdemeanor Lawyer
Many people make the mistake of thinking misdemeanor charges are not a significant problem, and they can handle things on their own. Moreover, many attorneys who practice criminal defense give the most attention to their felony cases and do not zealously advocate for their misdemeanor clients.
Make no mistake, misdemeanor convictions can have consequences in your life, from your ability to secure employment or housing to your ability to own a firearm. If you do not hire an attorney for your arraignment, and you settle for a guilty plea, you could be living with the repercussions of the decision for years to come. You should not sacrifice your rights by foregoing a full examination of your case. You need to hire a firm and attorneys who will take your charges seriously and fight for the best outcome for you and your future.
In addition, you should not let finances control your fate. A lot of people who do not qualify for a public defender choose to not hire a private lawyer because they don’t think they can afford it. But criminal attorneys offer a range of fees, and many offer payment plans. It is important to look into your options and consider the consequences of proceeding without a lawyer.
Attorney Mark Rees has been trying criminal cases for more than 20 years and will devote all the necessary time to your case for reasonable fees. Often, law enforcement will make mistakes during the course of their interactions and investigations, and Mark Rees has a keen ability to recognize those mistakes and use them to clients’ advantages.
Allow our firm’s knowledge and skills to work for you and contact us today to discuss your case. We offer free case consultations with convenient in-office or over-the-phone appointments. We understand the stress facing you, and we will work to assess your case as soon as possible and present you with options for a successful defense.
- Hal Rees
Best lawyer in Jonesboro…hands down! He really comes to bat for his clients.Jared Bozarth
I have used this firm for many years. They are professional and inviting, knowledgeable and hold themselves to a high level of integrity and moral accountability. I recommend them on a regular basis and have never been disappointed.Anastasia Beaverhousin
The best lawyer in Jonesboro and surrounding area. Mark, you work for your clients and you treat them as if they are your only client. You are a blessing to anyone. Keep up the great jobSheri Seabaugh Prestidge
A brilliant legal mind and an aggressive defender of the accused. Great person!Stan Morris
Mark Rees is a terrific lawyer and went above and beyond for me each time I have used his services. He treated me as if I were family and was always straight forward with us. I would recommend him to anyone.Tonda Johnston Baxter